The Guru Project

Connecting all Indians in Singapore, From citizens to expats to tourists, Regardless of collars; white, blue or pink, From Rajnikanth to Amitabh Bachan, From Ambani to No-Money, The Guru sends his love and greetings

Sid Sriram ends his Coachella Set with a song you would never guess

Coachella is an annual music and arts festival held at the Empire Polo Club in Indio, California, in the Coachella Valley in the Colorado Desert. It was co-founded by Paul Tollett and Rick Van Santen in 1999, and is organized by Goldenvoice, a subsidiary of AEG Presents. Sid Sriram who has sung more than 250 songs on Indian productions, is now 33 and has in the past few days become the first South Indian artist to perform at the world-renowned festival, which takes place across two weekends in the Colorado Desert.  He finished his set with a song you would have never guessed.

As a fellow Tamilian, I cannot begin to say how proud I am of you to have used that stage to sing Thirupugazh.
The following was his caption from his IG post.

Yesterday was one of those days where the stage felt like home.
Growing up in the suburbs in Fremont was mundane on most days. Having magical, grandiose dreams wasn’t really a thing, like the kind of dreams that change cultural currents. But I’ve been blessed to have a strong unit of divergent thinkers around me my whole life.
If you had told 9 year old me that I’d close my @coachella set with the Thiruppugazh my mother had just taught me, I probably would’ve chuckled and went back to day dreaming. Fast forward to 2024, first ever South Indian artist to play the festival.
On the days where the stage truly feels like home, and you’re with your brothers, you get the absolute privilege of tapping into what feels like the infinite. Yesterday felt boundless and free, I am grateful beyond belief.
My name is Sid Sriram, I was born in Chennai, India and I grew up in the Bay Area, California. I come from a discipline called Carnatic music, I’m proud of every damn part of who I am, and I promise you we are on our way to changing the tides of music/love/healing around the whole world.
Deepest love brother @arsononly for creating this universe with me. Deepest love to my brothers @ajabaum @dealdrugger @evanguymandude @chriseganiii @akajk_plus for being on this expedition, holding each other up and spreading real love every step of the way.
Big love to brothers @wavy_noah @xpoyer @hanstolo.ent for making sure we were taken care of proper
To everyone who is with us on journey, I love you from the bottom of my heart.
This is just the beginning.

Leave a comment